Steam can’t download games or is intermittent

I’ve been suffering with a Steam related problem for what seems like forever! The client starts up but will only download from the content servers in little bursts. It will download for about 5 minutes or so and then disconnect, to the point where on an 8mb adsl line it would download all of about 10% of a game over the course of a day!

Finally got around to looking into this this morning before work and found this cunning article tucked away in the Steam Support site. http://support.steampowered.com/kb_article.php?ref=6966-IADH-1503

Turns out that for me at least, deleting my ClientRegistry.blob file and rebooting Steam worked fine! I was getting over 1mb/s download when I left for work. So with any luck this will help out other people who are struggling to get Steam to download their games or updates.

2 thoughts on “Steam can’t download games or is intermittent

  1. Haha thank you sir i have for the last three days been downloading a single game but after trying this steam downloads work like a charm (dang just when i was getting so fast at restarting steam) thanks again for the tip, saved me a few more moments of precious life.

  2. I appreciate the worthy report you presentation in your post. I will bookmark your blog and have my kid check up here frequency. I am rather sure they will get a lots of new stuff here than anybody else!

Comments are closed.